Keep Your Plus+ Agents Focused with Group Views

April 29, 2010

One benefit of using Zendesk over your email inbox to manage your support ticket queue is setting it up to not show you certain things. While it may seem like a good idea to see all your support tickets in one big inbox, in practice, this “simplicity” complicates things; makes it difficult to know what you should be looking at. Ideally, you are looking at only those tickets that require your attention right now.

In Zendesk, the way you see your tickets is through Views. Views are rules based perspectives on your tickets – for instance you can set one up to show you all the open tickets that have been assigned to you but haven’t received a response yet; or you could see all the tickets tagged a certain way; or all the pending tickets that came in through your Dropbox; etc. You access your views by rolling over the Views tab in your Navbar.

But Zendesk goes one step further. Not only can you filter the tickets you see; you can filter who sees them. Views can be configured for individuals (“show me all the tickets assigned to me”); for your entire company (“show everyone a list of currently unassigned open tickets”); and for our Plus+ customers, even for groups within your company. The last item there is accomplished by Group Views, a relatively new feature that allows you to set up a view that is tied to one of your Zendesk groups. When someone from that group logs on they see that view; if they are not in that group, they don’t.

Why is this helpful? Well, as we said before, effective ticket management is often about what you don’t see. Let’s say you have a group within your company that tracks and squashes product bugs. When a ticket reporting a bug comes in, we definitely want to make sure those people know about it. But for all your other agents, those tickets, that view is just noise. It gets in the way of their views so to speak.

To set up a group view for this team, you will first need to be on a Plus+ account (go to Subscription Settings under the Account tab to check which plan you are on). Then go to the Views page under your Manage tab.

Create a new view and set your rules first:

File

Then if this is something you want to scope to one particular group, configure that near the bottom of the page:

File-1

Hit update and the next time your Bug Team logs in, they’ll see this view under the Views tab on the navbar. And importantly: everyone else won’t.

We know. It's a lot to take in.

Sign up for our newsletter and read at your own pace

Please enter a valid email address

Welcome to the club!

Oops! Sorry something went wrong, try again later?